Banana Chocolate Chip Cookies

By Ira,

I never throw away bananas. I freeze them (out of the skin and cut into 2 inch pieces), I put them in smoothies, and make bread and muffins (recipes to come soon!). When my son and I were making chocolate chip cookies, he asked me why don’t we make Banana Chocolate Chip cookies. I thought it was a great idea!

I adapted this recipe from Mad Hungry by Lucinda Scala Quinn. I replaced part of the flour with whole wheat pastry flour, I reduced the amount of sugar, I increased the amount of vanilla, I replaced half of the butter with coconut oil, I added flaxseed meal, I reduced the amount of salt, and I mixed different kinds of chocolate chips.

  • 4 tablespoons butter
  • 4 tablespoons coconut oil
  • 1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1/4 cup plus 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 3/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 2 tablespoons flaxseed meal
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 ripe banana
  • 3/4 cup mixed chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 375F with the rack in the middle position.

In a large bowl, mix together the butter, coconut oil, and the sugars using the paddle attachment on medium

for a minute.

Scrape the sides of the bowl and add the egg and vanilla and

mix for another minute.

In a separate large bowl, whisk together the flours, flaxseed meal, baking soda, and salt. Add the dry ingredients to the butter and sugar mixture and

stir on low until the ingredients just blend in (do not overmix).

Mash the banana with a fork and add it to the mixture.

Stir again, then add the chocolate chip cookies.

Stir.

Using a small ice cream scoop or a tablespoon, spoon the mixture onto a baking sheet covered with parchment paper or silpat, leaving about 2 inches between the cookies. Bake one tray at a time, for about 10 minutes (check starting at 9 minutes). Remove the cookies onto a wire rack to cool.

Leave a Reply

